Rain: The good part

You might say that I’m not put out by the rain now falling outside my window because I have a new loaf of wild cranberry bread baking in the oven.  And you’d be right.  And you might say that I’m not put out by the rain now falling outside my window because it’s nearly 70 degrees.  And you’d be right.

But the main reason I am happy about this wet day is that I like fungus.  No, not foot fungus, or nasty stuff that grows on previously tasty things left in the refrigerator- but fancy fungus.  Big fat fleshy fungus.  And by this I mean Pleurotus- yeah and Grifola fronds.  Sounds like I’m talking about dinosaurs again doesn’t it?

But what I’m talking about

are these guys:        the-oyster-mushroom

and these guys:

hen_of_the_woods_copy   Both of these fungi

like wet fall days just like this one.

Pleurotus are as white and succulent

as oysters, so to non-latin speakers

like me they’re called

Oyster Mushrooms.

The guys above are Grifola fronds

and Grifola fronds

sounds good,

but normal trail trotters like me

call them Hen-of-the woods.

Those of Japanese persuasion

call them: Maitake

* That said if any of you out there have just the tiniest mushroom bug lookie here: Mushroom Hunter: On the Trail of Underground America.  If you’re like me you’ll gobble up this incredibly readable, gorgeously written book and immediately want more of anything Langdon Cook produces.

This entry was posted in mushrooms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

